October 1, 2026 · Nelson Marques, RD, CSSD
Phosphatidylserine: The 300 mg Studied Dose vs the 100 mg Label Dose, and the Soy-vs-Sunflower Source Question
Phosphatidylserine is one of the better-documented cognitive and cortisol-blunting supplements on the market, but almost every retail PS product on the shelf delivers one-third of the dose used in the trials that built its reputation. Here is the dose math, the soy-vs-sunflower source question, and the four-question label read that separates a studied dose from a decorative one.
Phosphatidylserine: The 300 mg Studied Dose vs the 100 mg Label Dose, and the Soy-vs-Sunflower Source Question
Phosphatidylserine is one of the few cognitive-support ingredients on the retail shelf that has an actual body of controlled-trial evidence behind it. The literature spans forty years, includes trials in age-related cognitive decline, ADHD, exercise-induced cortisol, and sport-performance stress recovery, and lands on dose ranges that are consistent across the better-designed studies. On that evidence base, PS has a defensible claim to a slot in the cognitive-and-stress stack.
The problem is not the ingredient. The problem is the dose on the bottle. Walk down the cognitive-support shelf at any mainstream retailer and you will find PS products at 100 mg per serving — one-third of the dose used in the studies that built the ingredient's reputation. The label math is a familiar pattern: the trial literature says 300 mg per day, the retail bottle says 100 mg per serving, the serving size says one capsule, and the buyer who read the Supplement Facts panel in good faith is funding a decorative dose at a studied-ingredient price.
This piece is the dose math on what the trials actually used, the soy-vs-sunflower source question that most labels do not disclose, the narrow legitimate case for 100 mg dosing, and the four-question label read that separates a studied dose from a decorative one.
What Phosphatidylserine Actually Is
Phosphatidylserine is a phospholipid — one of the structural lipids that makes up the inner leaflet of neuronal and other cell membranes. Serine is the amino acid headgroup, two fatty acid chains (usually one saturated and one polyunsaturated) are the hydrophobic tail, and the whole molecule sits in the lipid bilayer where it participates in membrane fluidity, neurotransmitter receptor function, protein kinase C anchoring, and the apoptotic signaling cascade (externalized PS is the "eat me" signal that macrophages recognize on dying cells).
PS is synthesized endogenously, concentrated in the brain, and present in small amounts in dietary sources (organ meats carry the highest content, with smaller amounts in soy and sunflower lecithin, fish, and dairy). Supplemental PS has historically been sourced from two commercial starting materials: bovine cortex (dominant through the 1990s, discontinued in the mainstream market after BSE concerns) and plant lecithin fractions, where either soy or sunflower lecithin is enzymatically converted to the PS headgroup using phospholipase D.
The source material matters more than most buyers realize, and the label math is where the problem starts.
The Studied Dose Range
The PS trial literature anchors on a few consistent dose brackets.
Age-related cognitive decline — 300 mg per day. The foundational trials from the late 1980s and 1990s (Crook et al. 1991, Cenacchi et al. 1993, and several smaller Italian and German trials) used 300 mg per day of bovine-cortex PS across 6-to-12-week protocols in adults with age-related memory impairment or mild cognitive impairment. The effect sizes were modest but reproducible — small but real improvements on name-face recall, delayed recall, and global cognitive measures. The 300 mg daily dose is the dose that the "PS supports memory" marketing claim rests on.
Exercise-induced cortisol blunting — 400 to 800 mg per day. The sport-performance trial literature (Fahey and Pearl 1998, Starks et al. 2008, Monteleone et al. 1992) used 400 to 800 mg per day of soy-derived PS to blunt the exercise-induced cortisol response, with the Starks 2008 trial landing on 600 mg/day as the dose that produced a measurable cortisol-reduction effect after a cycling bout. These are higher doses than the cognitive-decline literature, and they are the dose range that the "PS supports recovery" marketing claim rests on.
Pediatric ADHD — 200 to 300 mg per day. The Hirayama 2014 and Manor 2012 trials used 200 to 300 mg per day of PS in pediatric ADHD populations with inattention and impulsivity endpoints. The effect sizes were small to moderate.
The 100 mg dose. No controlled trial of consequence used 100 mg per day as the primary active dose. One or two small trials included a 100 mg arm as a low-dose comparator; the 100 mg arms either did not reach statistical significance against placebo or produced effect sizes substantially smaller than the 300 mg arms in the same trials.
Yet 100 mg per serving is the dominant dose on the retail PS shelf.
The Serving-Size Math
The underdosing is not usually hidden. It is right on the label, and the buyer who reads the Supplement Facts panel without doing the arithmetic will miss it anyway.
A typical retail PS product reads:
- Supplement Facts panel: Phosphatidylserine 100 mg per serving
- Serving size: 1 capsule
- Container: 60 capsules
The label is not lying about what is in each capsule. The label is making the capsule small enough that a trial-matching 300 mg daily dose requires three capsules per day, which means the 60-capsule bottle lasts 20 days instead of 60. A $25 bottle at the one-capsule-per-day serving size is $25 for 60 days of a decorative dose. The same bottle at the three-capsule-per-day studied dose is $25 for 20 days of a studied dose, or $37.50 per month — a very different price position in the category.
The buyer who reads "phosphatidylserine 100 mg per serving" and takes one capsule a day is getting a dose with no controlled-trial support for the marketing claim on the front of the bottle. The buyer who takes three capsules per day is getting a studied dose at a cost that most PS buyers would reconsider if the label math were presented honestly on the front panel.
The Soy-vs-Sunflower Source Question
Once the dose is set at a studied range, the next label question is source material. Mainstream retail PS splits into two commercial-source categories.
Soy-derived PS. The dominant commercial source. Enzymatic conversion of soy lecithin yields PS, with residual soy protein and soy phospholipid content typically below the IgE-reactivity threshold for most soy-allergic consumers but not reliably so. The soy-derived PS used in most trials from the 2000s onward is the comparator that the modern cognitive and cortisol trials rest on. If the label does not specify the source, the default commercial source in the category is soy.
Sunflower-derived PS. The cleaner source for the soy-sensitive buyer. Enzymatic conversion of sunflower lecithin yields a PS fraction that is functionally equivalent to the soy-derived version at matched dose. Marketing claims that sunflower-derived PS has pharmacokinetic or clinical advantages over soy-derived PS are not supported by head-to-head trials. The source matters for allergen avoidance and for the buyer who wants to avoid soy for other reasons (hormonal, GMO, personal preference). It does not change the dose math.
Bovine-cortex PS. The historical commercial source, carried the strongest trial evidence from the 1980s and 1990s. Discontinued in the mainstream market after BSE concerns. If a current label claims bovine-cortex PS, verify the source country and documentation; most contemporary PS on the retail shelf is plant-derived.
The source question is a transparency check. A label that specifies "sunflower-derived phosphatidylserine" is telling you more than a label that lists "phosphatidylserine (from lecithin)." The latter is almost certainly soy and is leaving the buyer to make assumptions.
The Narrow Case for 100 mg
There is one legitimate case where 100 mg of PS per serving is the right dose on the label — the multi-ingredient cognitive stack where PS is one of several active ingredients and the formula is designed to carry three servings per day. A stack labeled at 100 mg PS per serving with a serving size of three capsules per day, and the Supplement Facts panel showing the full 300 mg per day daily dose, is a correctly dosed product.
A stack labeled at 100 mg PS per serving with a serving size of one capsule per day, and the panel showing 100 mg per day, is not. The multi-ingredient framing does not rescue the 100 mg daily dose from the no-trial-support criticism.
The 100 mg-per-capsule format can also be legitimate when the buyer has deliberately chosen it for titration — the 100 mg capsule lets a cognitive-support buyer start at one capsule per day, assess tolerance, and build to the three-capsule-per-day studied dose. Most retail products are not marketed this way, but the format itself is defensible if the buyer understands the math.
The Running-Stack Problem
A specific trap for the cognitive-and-stress stack buyer — PS appears in a surprising number of multi-ingredient formulas at sub-studied doses that look like active content on the label but do not add up to a studied daily total even across the full stack.
A nootropic blend with 50 mg PS, a cortisol-support formula with 100 mg PS, and a sleep stack with 50 mg PS adds up to 200 mg per day of PS from three products — two-thirds of the studied dose from three separate purchases. The buyer is paying the premium PS price in each of three stacks and still falling short of the trial-anchored daily total.
The running-stack discipline the proprietary-blends piece applies to every ingredient class applies here too — audit the total daily dose of every studied ingredient across every product in the stack, confirm the total matches a trial-anchored range, and consolidate to a single standalone product at the studied dose when the stack math is incoherent.
The Four-Question Label Read
Twenty seconds at the shelf.
-
What is the per-day dose of phosphatidylserine? Multiply per-serving mg by servings per day. The answer should be 300 mg for cognitive-support claims, 400 to 600 mg for sport-recovery / cortisol-blunting claims, 200 to 300 mg for ADHD / focus claims. Below 200 mg per day is a decorative dose for any mainstream claim.
-
What source is the PS? Soy-derived is the default and the trial-comparator. Sunflower-derived is the cleaner source for soy-sensitive buyers at matched dose and clinical equivalence. A label that does not disclose the source is leaving the buyer to assume soy.
-
Is this a standalone PS product or a multi-ingredient stack? If multi-ingredient, pull every active with a daily-dose range and confirm each one is at a studied dose. A stack that underdoses PS is likely underdosing the other actives as well.
-
What does the stack total look like? If the buyer is running a cognitive, cortisol, or sleep stack, audit for PS content across every product in the stack and sum the daily total. Fragmented sub-studied doses across three products add up to a sub-studied daily total at three product prices.
NOTE
The 300 mg studied daily dose for cognitive-support claims is the floor, not a ceiling. The sport-recovery and cortisol-blunting literature anchors at 400 to 600 mg per day. The 100 mg per-capsule format is only defensible when the serving size and daily total add up to a trial-anchored range. One capsule per day of a 100 mg PS product is a decorative dose at a studied-ingredient price.
Phosphatidylserine has one of the better evidence bases on the cognitive-and-stress shelf. The ingredient earns its slot in the stack. The dose on most retail labels does not earn the ingredient's reputation. The four-question read is twenty seconds. It is cheaper than six months of a one-capsule-per-day habit on a formula that was never going to produce the effect it was sold on.
SUBSCRIBE
Get more like this.
Evidence-based writing on supplements, performance nutrition, and the research behind what actually works. No spam, no daily emails — just the good stuff.
